Alexandre Cabanel’s The Birth of Venus (1863).

Fascinating history

If It Happened Yesterday, It's History

Alexandre_Cabanel_-_The_Birth_of_Venus_-_Google_Art_Project_2.jpgInspiration often comes from my daily grind. I’ve said it many times before and today is no different. I bought a bottle of spring water and imagine my surprise, as I see a naked goddess obscuring her face, lying across an ocean wave, surrounded by cherubs as its logo. I laugh out loud, of course I would notice that, as I quench my thirst.

I am familiar with the story and imagery of the birth of Venus, though it is the painting by Sandro Botticelli’s The Birth of Venus (c. 1486) that I envisage first. You know the one, where Venus is standing on a seashell modestly covering her herself with her hands and hair. (I must confess, I am also reminded of the fresco from Pompei, Casa di Venus, 1st century AD, but only because of my interest in Roman history.) Interestingly, in Cabanel version of Venus’ birth…

View original post 333 more words

One response to “Alexandre Cabanel’s The Birth of Venus (1863).

  1. Pingback: Alexandre Cabanel’s The Birth of Venus (1863). — Lenora’s Culture Center and Foray into History | Le Bien-Etre au bout des Doigts·

Leave a Reply

