‘1979’: Billy Corgan’s ode to youth.

If It Happened Yesterday, It's History

billy_c

Rolling Stone magazine best sums up ‘1979’ as “a mid tempo tune that looks back on the aimless fun of adolescene with a touch of melancholy and longing.”It is a song that still stands the test of time, no matter what generation of youth choose to listen to it. Though, I don’t think you have to be young to appreciate its sentiment. I often find myself nowadays cranking up the volume on 1979, simply because it is a beautiful song. And so while I’m thinking about it, that hypnotic rollercoaster of chord changes (on guitar) and the effortless drumbeat, always seems to set my mood, in recalling the vivid memories of my youth, that helped me become the person that I am today.

“We don’t even care, as restless as we are.
We feel the pull in the land of a thousand guilts. And poured cement, lamented and assured. To the…

View original post 307 more words

Leave a Reply

