Starting over: The art (and agony) of writing beginnings in fiction.

www.seanmunger.com

moby dick opening

It’s been a long time since I’ve done an article specifically about writing, the craft and practice of writing. A lot of authors’ websites give writing advice pretty often, and as you know I stake my “brand” on being different than that. But I’m just coming out of an extremely intensive two-week period of fiction writing, which has proven very productive. (For first looks at what I’ve been writing, join my email newsletter!) With writing craft on the brain as a result of this experience, I thought I’d say a few words on what I think is the most difficult problem in writing fiction: the damned beginnings. I say damned beginnings because I hate beginnings. They are from the Devil. They are sent to tempt us into evil, and beginnings have destroyed many a writer’s soul. There’s no silver bullet to slay the dragon of coming up with a…

View original post 1,640 more words

Leave a Reply

