Delicate masterpiece: Reading Kazuo Ishiguro’s “The Remains of the Day.”

SeanMunger.com

remains of the day book

The 1993 Merchant-Ivory film Remains of the Day, starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson, is my favorite movie of all time. About two years ago I wrote a blog, one of my personal favorites, about how it came to be so. You might be surprised that with as many times as I’ve seen the film, I had never read the highly-regarded novel it was based on, by Japanese-born British author Kazuo Ishiguro. I finally rectified that. Not long ago I found a used paperback copy of the book, and last night I finished reading it. It was an absolutely magical experience and reminded me of why I love books so much in the first place. And, far from sparking a comparison in my head (which might otherwise seem inevitable) about which was “better,” the movie or the book, I discovered that the two media complement each other in…

View original post 914 more words

Leave a Reply

